The Journey Begins…almost

Welcome to Following the Monsoon! In this inaugural post, I wanted to share a few notes about my plans for the site and a few tips on how to navigate it.

This blog is meant to serve as a companion piece to my dissertation research on ancient Indo-Mediterranean trade, specifically research that I will conduct abroad between August 2018 and August 2019. Over the course of the next year, my research will take me around the world, starting in India, then Europe, then back in the US. More specifics can be found on the About the Site page.

It is my hope that my posts will record my discoveries, ponderings, and meanderings during each stage of this research (with accompanying photos). I hope to post relatively frequently, depending on the pace of my research and internet availability; I am aiming for at least one post a week. If you are keen to stay up-to-date with posts, you can always subscribe via email. As a caveat to the reader, this is my first time managing a site like this, so mistakes will be made.

In addition to individual posts, you can read more specifics about my research plans under the Stages of Research menu; so far, only the India page is live. When enough posts materialize, I hope to organize them by topic on the Archives page (of course, you can always search posts using the search bar).

I am currently spending one last semi-rainy week in my home city of New York before heading off to India, where I will be conducting research for about five months. I am very excited to see where the winds carry me.

N.B. I leave this stock photo provided by WordPress for lack of a better substitute–it looks more like a dusk than a dawn, but there you have it.

post

Leave a comment